top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRochelle Arnold

An Ode to Mom


Reflecting upon my childhood, the times I spent with you. Boy, how time flies evaporating like the dew.


As I make the drive to visit, my soul is almost numb,

because it's been awhile since you've been in the sun.


Days turn into weeks, months turn into years and now the world is crazy:

sickness, worry, fears.


The candle is still burning a gentle warming glow, your eyes still tell a story,

your words they still do flow.


You peek outside your window, the gentle breeze sweeps by.

Trees are swaying softly. I'm trying not to cry.


You tell me that my visits, really cheer you up.

It's good to see you smile, when this world is so corrupt.


It's been far too long since you felt a human touch;

a kiss, a hug, a shoulder, the things that mean so much.


I pray that God has mercy and that He will make a way,

where there seems to be so much sorrow, each and every day.


Tomorrow is not promised, the future still unclear.

I blow a kiss and wave goodbye as you disappear.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page